so here’s the thing about friends…

I have been fortunate enough in my life to meet some pretty rad people. And I am not just talking about during my travels, though you people are super rad too. I mean in my every day life, the ones back home who despite my life of wandering, continue to be my friends. They continue to keep in touch, one way or another. Those people who despite not talking every day, or seeing each other all the time, are still close friends who I can always count on.

One of the hardest things about the life I choose to lead is being away from my friends. I have so many wonderful friends, that it can be difficult to be so far away from them. Sometimes I am doing something awesome, whether it be an adventure to the mountains or swimming in an infinity pool, and think of certain people who I would love to be doing this with. Let’s be honest, it’s usually the foods I am eating where I think of certain friends, you know who you are, who would love to be eating these delicious foods with me. It’s also hard when, despite doing all kinds of awesome things, you logon to social media and see your friends all hanging out together, at a wedding or just out for a drink. You see them doing every day things, and you wish you were there.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those people who have a ‘fear of missing out’ constantly. I like doing my own thing, and I am happy with my choices in life. As much as I wish I could be doing all of those things with my friends, I know that whenever I go home, I can be. Because I have the kinds of friends who understand that I may only be around for a month, for a week, sometimes longer, but that doesn’t mean I am any less of a friend.

Now I have two best friends whom I do not talk to every day, or even every week, but when we do talk, it’s as if no time has gone by at all. I can tell them anything. I can count on them for anything. But friendships aren’t about being dependent on another person for every single thing. I do not have that one friend who I share every detail of my life to anymore. And that is okay. I have friends who I talk to every day, or almost every day, about all the little mundane things. I have my friends who I tell all the important things to, but don’t necessarily tell them about every day conversations I have with the cute boy I met, or the unnecessary drama I have in my life. Or I have one or two friends that I more or less tell most things to. I have realized that doesn’t make any one friend more or less important than the other. There are just different kinds of friends, and some are good when you want advice, some are good for just listening and some are good to tell you to shut the hell up already. That’s just the way life goes.

Longest and dearest friendship with Chelsea
These girls, Carly and Meghan

One of my bests, Karina

Throughout my life I have made friends and I have lost friends, but not every one you meet along your journey is worth keeping around. I even said to my aunt today on the phone that I have kept in touch with some people whom I never thought I would, and lost touch with others who I assumed would be in my life for a long time. That’s just the way life goes. I think as I get older, and continue to wander away from home, I really and truly realize what makes a good friend and what kind of friend is worth keeping in touch with. Sure we keep in touch with everyone we’ve ever met through social media, the rad thing about Facebook and Instagram is that we can do that. But I am talking about the friends we text or call, make plans to FaceTime with. The ones we truly want to contact and hear about their lives; the parts of their lives they don’t put on display for the world to see online. When you have long distance friendships, it really puts that into perspective. You find out who puts an effort into keeping in touch, and not relying on reading your blog or skimming through your social media for updates. But it’s not always about the effort others put in, but the effort you put in as well. I have found myself re-evaluating friendships a lot while living away from home. Am I really that invested in a friendship with someone I never really am bothered with reaching out to and making an effort to chat with while away? Probably not.

My beautiful blondes Vanessa and Heather
Long time friends, Lisa and Kait

So here I am, sitting at home, on my couch, on the other side of the country from my friends, and although I miss them, I am just truly grateful to have the kinds of friends worth missing. I look forward to the month I have at home where I can join in on their fun nights, and catch up with them in person. And hug them. I just really want to hug all my friends right now. I am so utterly happy right now to think of all my wonderful friends back home, and how truly lucky I am to be a part of their lives, even from afar.

One thought on “so here’s the thing about friends…

Leave a Reply

